CASH ADVANCE MATH / APPS WITHOUT DIRECT DEPOSIT
Cash advance apps without direct deposit: read the requirement.
No direct deposit does not mean no income requirement. Compare explicit exceptions, recurring-deposit rules and requirements the app does not publish.
We may earn a commission from some provider links. It never changes these findings or the order: published deposit requirements set the groups, then modeled cost sets the order within each group. How we make money
Which apps say direct deposit is not required?
Cleo explicitly describes a standard advance without direct deposit, but still requires regular income. Dave publishes no fixed direct deposit condition; account history and recurring deposits affect eligibility. Neither statement promises an advance.
Albert and Tilt do not state direct deposit as a requirement in the reviewed material. That is weaker evidence than an explicit no. Brigit and FloatMe require recurring qualifying deposits even though the requirement is not necessarily labelled direct deposit.
EarnIn, Klover, Chime and Current describe direct deposit or qualifying payroll-deposit requirements. MoneyLion lists direct deposits with separate conditional alternatives. Varo requires its own account and describes qualification through deposits into Varo or a linked account with ongoing direct deposits.
What to check
- Ask whether your actual income source, deposit method and schedule qualify. A transfer from a wallet may not count as income or as a qualifying deposit.
- Check the bank-selection screen before subscribing. No direct deposit requirement does not mean every bank or wallet is supported.
- Confirm the available amount, full fee and repayment date before accepting. A membership payment does not establish eligibility.
The table starts with an explicit no, then no fixed or unstated mandates, recurring-income rules, and deposit-dependent routes. Within each group, modeled cost comes first and unknown costs come last. The complete published requirement is shown for every app.
What the reference cost means
The common example is $100 over 14 days, standard delivery, another bank, $0 tip, one advance per month and no qualifying Varo deposits. It uses the same calculator as the rest of this site. Prices do not confirm compatibility or qualify anyone for an advance.
Membership counts in full for this one advance; Dave uses its published maximum membership charge. First-time limits may be lower than $100. Provider repayment dates and state-specific fees can differ from this comparison.
MoneyLion's free standard route requires MoneyLion Spend. Current's modeled route requires a Current Account. Chime is excluded from the shared "another bank" scenario even on the Chime guide: MyPay's own-account route is explained separately. Varo remains unpriced without qualifying deposits because the supplied fee statements conflict. Albert's mandatory draw fee is unpublished. None of those gaps is treated as zero.
Every app and its deposit requirement
The reference cost uses a common scenario. Read the status or deposit requirement separately; a low cost does not establish that the app works for your account.
| App | Published requirement | Reference cost for $100 | Evidence and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleo | Not required for a standard advance No for a standard advance. Eligibility is 'calculated based on your paycheck, your spending habits, and your budget' and 'You need to have a regular income to pay back an advance'. Direct deposit (into a Cleo account opened with Thread Bank, per the Direct Deposit FAQ search snippet) only unlocks bigger 'boosted' advances: $250+ in 30 days = up to $200, $500 = up to $300, $750 = up to $500, and at least two pay cycles are needed. |
$5.99 Plus membership, with free standard delivery in 3-4 days. Uses the $5.99 Plus in-app route. Non-subscribers may contact customer service. Published maximums conflict; this comparison stops at $250. |
Checked |
| Tilt (formerly Empower) | Not stated as required Not stated as required. Terms: the advance is tied to 'the bank account that you linked during Tilt Advance enrollment (your Primary Checking Account)' and 'minimum qualifications ... are identified when you request access'. tilt.com: 'connect your primary checking account via Plaid to show regular income, recurring payments, and savings activity'. No W-2 or employer verification is required. |
$8.00 Membership, with free ACH delivery in about 1 business day. Uses $8 per month after the trial. A waiver can be requested by email. Delivery to the Tilt debit card is free, generally within 1 minute. Wisconsin and Maryland fees differ. |
Checked |
| Dave (ExtraCash) | No fixed direct deposit rule published No fixed direct deposit requirement published. Eligibility is set by the bank from the connected account's 'balance, deposits and spending, and account age'; 'having recurring deposits in your linked bank account can be positive factors.' ExtraCash agreement (last updated 2026-02-26) requires a Dave Checking account or a linked US deposit account (checking, savings or money market) and states no direct deposit condition. |
$10.00 5% advance fee ($5 minimum), plus the allocated membership. Free ACH delivery takes 2-3 business days. Uses up to $5 monthly membership. Instant delivery to Dave Checking has no delivery fee, but the advance fee still applies. |
Checked |
| Albert (Instant) | Not stated as required Not stated as required. Required: an Albert Cash account ('An Albert Cash account is required to access Instant Advances'), Smart Money on 'Automatic', a linked debit card, and 'an active bank account' with 'a long transaction history' linked. Direct deposit into Albert Cash is optional (early pay). Albert Terms: peer-to-peer transfers from Cash App, Venmo, Wise or PayPal are not qualifying direct deposits. |
Not published for this scenario Mandatory draw fee shown in app. The published external fast-transfer fee does not establish the full advance cost; draw fees remain unpublished. |
Checked |
| FloatMe | Recurring income deposits required Recurring income into the linked checking account is required: 'You are able to receive ACH deposits' and 'You receive deposits of at least $150 per pay period for two (2) consecutive pay periods from an eligible income source', on consistent dates. Self-employment and independent-contractor income 'do not qualify as an eligible income source at this time'. The terms set no formal direct deposit mandate. |
$6.99 Membership, with free ACH delivery in 1-3 business days. Uses the $6.99 membership route. A no-cost route is available by email; timing is not verified. The maximum is $200. Indiana fees differ. |
Checked |
| Brigit (Instant Cash) | Recurring deposits required Recurring deposits required (not necessarily labelled direct deposit): 'at least three recurring deposits from the same employer or deposit source'; checking account with at least 60 days of history, sufficient daily activity and a balance above $0. 'ATM deposits, paper checks, cash transfers, or paychecks with irregular pay schedules do not qualify.' A minimum deposit amount applies but is not published. Direct deposit to Cross River Bank is only an optional repayment feature (Terms rev. 2026-03-31). |
$8.99 Plus membership, with free delivery in 1-3 business days. Uses the $8.99 Plus in-app route. A no-subscription application route is available by email; timing is not verified. |
Checked |
| Current (Paycheck Advance) | Eligible payroll deposit into Current required Yes. Terms (effective July 30, 2026): 'You must receive one Eligible Payroll Deposit of at least $200.00 or more into your Current Account.' Help center: 'at least one eligible payroll deposit of $200+ per month into your Current Account.' Transfers 'from digital wallets or P2P services (PayPal, Venmo, Cash App, Zelle, Google Pay, Facebook Pay ...)', mobile check deposits and cash deposits do not count. Current 'may, in its sole discretion,' advance before deposits are detected. |
$0.00 No delivery fee into a Current Account, typically within 3 business days. Requires a Current Account and an eligible payroll deposit of $200 or more. This is not a transfer to your selected outside bank. State restrictions apply. |
Checked |
| EarnIn (Cash Out) | Direct deposit required Yes. 'A consistent direct deposit pay schedule: weekly, biweekly, semi-monthly, monthly' into a linked checking account; must be 18+, US resident, own a US bank account. Social Security (incl. SSDI), SSI and VA compensation/pension work when direct deposited into the linked checking account; unemployment not compatible. 'EarnIn is unable to send earnings to prepaid and savings accounts. A linked checking account is required.' |
$0.00 No delivery fee if you can wait 1-2 business days. General fee table, up to $150 per day. Fees, tips and limits differ in some states. Approval and your limit are not assured. |
Checked |
| Klover | Employer direct deposits required Yes. '3+ direct deposits from your employer in your checking account (within the last 60 days)', payroll names must match exactly, consistent frequency with no gaps; each paycheck $250 or more on a 7- or 14-day schedule. SSI accepted only on a 7- or 14-day cycle; monthly income, self-employment/gig income and unemployment not accepted. 'Cash, transfers, or app deposits (Venmo, PayPal, CashApp) are not accepted as paychecks.' Checking account active 90+ days (savings not accepted). Must also link a debit card ('temporary or prepaid card: we don't accept these'). |
$0.00 No delivery fee for standard ACH, usually within 3 business days. Klover+ is optional. General fee table. Indiana, Wisconsin, Connecticut and Maryland have different terms. Points can lower delivery fees; no points discount is assumed. |
Checked |
| MoneyLion Instacash | Direct deposit required, with alternatives Yes, with alternatives. External route: linked checking account at least 60 days old, registered in your name, receiving regular income deposits (payroll, government benefits, pension), with 'at least three recurring direct deposits from the same employer or provider on a consistent schedule (weekly, biweekly, semi-monthly, or monthly).' Savings and money market accounts do not qualify. Alternatives: MoneyLion Spend account with recurring direct deposits (limit up to $1,000); an approved Credit Builder Loan with upfront disbursement 'may' qualify automatically; Trial Instacash for users not yet eligible. |
$0.00 No delivery fee to a MoneyLion Spend account, usually 1-2 business days. Requires MoneyLion Spend. The July 2026 terms restrict free external delivery to people unable to open Spend; that exception is not assumed. |
Checked |
| Chime MyPay | Qualifying deposits into Chime required Yes. Qualifying direct deposits into Chime Checking in the preceding 36 days: 2 deposits of $200+ from an employer, payroll provider or gig economy payer; or 1 such deposit of $200+ plus an Additional Data Source; or 1 deposit of $200+ from a known government benefits payer. Pay Anyone transfers, verification/trial deposits and 'peer to peer transfers from services such as PayPal, Cash App, or Venmo' do not qualify. |
Not available in this scenario Requires Chime Checking, an activated physical card and qualifying direct deposits. Select Chime if that is your account. |
Checked |
| Varo Advance | Varo account and deposit-based qualification A Varo Bank Account is required. Help center (updated 2026-09-23): qualify either by 'Setting up and receiving $800+ in qualifying deposits to your Varo account(s) monthly' or by 'Linking an external (non-Varo) account with ongoing direct deposits and positive balances for several months'. $800 in Qualifying Deposits gives the lower fee and higher limits. The Aug 19, 2026 agreement's Eligibility Criteria list only account standing (no negative balance, no missed payments). Person-to-person payments (Venmo, Varo to Anyone) are not direct deposits. |
Not published for this scenario Requires a Varo account. Without $800 in qualifying deposits, the supplied percentage and dollar fee table conflict. Check the app; this price is not ranked. |
Checked |
When the app requires its own account
For these products, an unsupported outside bank does not mean the provider rejects every possible relationship with that bank. It means the bank alone does not satisfy the published advance-account requirements.
Chime MyPay
Requires Chime Checking in good standing and qualifying direct deposits. Advances arrive in Chime Checking and repayment comes from the next qualifying deposit. Provider terms or eligibility .
Varo Advance
Requires a Varo Bank Account, and every advance is deposited there. A linked external account may help with eligibility or repayment, but is not the payout account. Provider terms or eligibility .
Current Paycheck Advance
Requires a Current Account and an eligible payroll deposit. The terms direct advances to Current, while the help page also describes standard delivery to a chosen deposit account. No outside bank is named; confirm the route before applying. Provider terms or eligibility .
Albert also requires Albert Cash for the advance itself, followed by a separate external transfer if requested. A free transfer does not remove its unpublished mandatory draw fee.
How to read the gaps in the research
These are dated findings from the apps' official help pages and terms, not live connection tests. Several providers describe a supported bank search without naming individual banks. Some pages were unavailable to the researchers. An absent confirmation stays absent, even if a marketing list or a third-party review claims support.
Check the cited page and the current in-app flow before relying on a match. Current's standard-delivery wording conflicts with its terms, and Tilt's help center could not be read; both limitations remain visible here.