CASH ADVANCE MATH / WHAT IS A CASH ADVANCE

What is a cash advance? Three meanings, three prices

The same two words can mean cash from your credit card, part of your pay from an app or a payday loan. Here is how to tell them apart and what each costs.

We may earn a commission from some provider links. It never changes the order, which is always set by cost. How we make money

A cash advance is fast cash that you pay back later. The term has three meanings. On a credit card, it is cash taken against your credit line, and the CFPB says getting cash with your credit card at an ATM is considered a short-term loan and can be expensive. With a cash advance app, it is part of your pay before payday. And payday loans are, in the FTC's words, also called cash advance loans.

What it costs depends on which one you mean. For $100 over 14 days, our three credit card examples cost $6.12 to $11.14, mostly the cash advance fee. The lowest-cost app routes in our calculator are Current, EarnIn, Klover and MoneyLion Instacash at $0.00 with standard delivery and EarnIn at $5.99 with instant delivery, and each app sets its own account and bank requirements. A payday loan at the CFPB's common charge of $15 per $100 costs $15.00.

The three meanings of cash advance

1. A credit card cash advance

You take cash against your card's credit line at an ATM, or you use a check you received from your card issuer. Unlike withdrawing money from a bank account, the CFPB explains, a cash advance pulls money from your line of credit, and it comes with its own fee and interest rate.

Card agreements count more than ATM withdrawals as cash advances. Capital One defines a cash advance as a loan in cash or things we consider cash equivalents, including wire transfers, travelers' checks, money orders, foreign currency, lottery tickets, gaming chips, and wagers. Bank of America's example agreement also treats person-to-person money transfers, bets, casino gaming chips and cryptocurrency, among other things, as cash advances.

2. A cash advance app

A cash advance app gives you part of your pay before payday and takes it back when you are paid. The CFPB separates two main types of earned wage access, employer-partnered and direct-to-consumer. Direct-to-consumer providers offer access to amounts that they estimate to be below accrued wages, and they generally collect by automated withdrawal from the worker's regular transaction account that receives their paycheck.

Whether an app advance counts as credit depends on how it works. In a December 2025 advisory opinion, the CFPB said that payroll-linked "Covered EWA" is not credit under Regulation Z. One condition is repayment through a payroll process deduction in connection with the worker's next payroll event, and a transfer from your bank account after payday is not a payroll process deduction. The CFPB adds that the opinion does not state, and nothing in it should be understood to state, that EWA products that are not Covered EWA are credit under Regulation Z. State laws differ, so an app's fees and terms can change by state.

What an app costs comes from its own terms: some charge a mandatory fee or a membership, some charge only for instant delivery, and some ask for optional tips. Our 12 app profiles show each one.

3. A payday loan, also called a cash advance

The CFPB describes a payday loan as a short-term, high-cost loan, generally for $500 or less, that is typically due on your next payday. It is usually repaid in a single payment on the borrower's next payday, and the due date is typically two to four weeks from the date the loan is made. To repay, you generally give the lender a post-dated check for the full balance, including fees, or authorization to electronically debit the funds from your bank, credit union, or prepaid card account.

Whether payday loans are allowed, and what they can cost, depends on your state. Check your state's payday loan rules first.

What is a cash advance fee?

On a credit card, it is a fee charged each time you take a cash advance. The CFPB says the fees can be substantial, and that depending on your card the company may charge "a flat fee for withdrawing money, or they'll charge you a percentage of the cash advance." The table shows the fee and APR that three issuers publish, and what $100 for 14 days costs with each.

Cash taken from a credit card: the published fee plus 14 days of interest on $100, from the transaction date. Bank of America uses the highest APR in its published range.
CardCash advance feeCash advance APR (variable)$100 for 14 days
Chase Freedom Unlimited
Terms as of Dec 16, 2025 · Issuer terms
either $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater28.49%
Fee
$10.00
Interest
$1.09
Total cost
$11.09
Equivalent APR
289.1%
Wells Fargo Active Cash
Terms as of Sep 2026 · Issuer terms
either $10 or 5% of the amount of each advance, whichever is greater29.74%
Fee
$10.00
Interest
$1.14
Total cost
$11.14
Equivalent APR
290.4%
Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards
Terms as of Jun 30, 2026 · Issuer terms
5% of the transaction for an ATM cash advance28.49% to 29.24%
Fee
$5.00
Interest
$1.12
Total cost
$6.12
Equivalent APR
159.6%

Interest in these examples starts on the transaction date and uses each card's cash advance APR divided by 365 for each day, on the $100 only. Capital One's agreement says the cash advance fee is treated as a cash advance transaction; on cards like that, interest can also build on the fee. Capital One's consumer cards charge either $5 or 5% of the amount of each cash advance, whichever is greater, with a cash advance APR of the Prime Rate plus a margin between 19.24% and 22.24%. Its agreement lists APRs for offers available as of June 30, 2025, so we do not price a Capital One example.

Apps and payday lenders charge differently. Apps charge advance fees, memberships or instant delivery fees, depending on the app. For a payday loan, the CFPB says the finance charge can range from $10 to $30 for every $100 borrowed, depending on your state law.

How cash advance interest works on a credit card

  • It starts right away. Unlike purchases with a grace period, the CFPB says interest on a cash advance starts as soon as you withdraw your money. Chase begins charging interest on cash advances on the transaction date, as does Bank of America, and Wells Fargo begins charging interest on cash advances on the transaction date.
  • The rate is usually higher. The CFPB says you'll commonly pay a higher interest rate for a cash advance than you would for a typical credit card purchase. Wells Fargo Active Cash charges 29.74% on cash advances and 18.74%, 24.74% or 28.74% on purchases after the intro period, depending on creditworthiness. Chase Freedom Unlimited charges 28.49% on cash advances and 18.24% to 27.74% on purchases after the intro period. These APRs vary with the Prime Rate.
  • The limit is lower. The CFPB says many cards have a separate lower limit for cash advances and checks written from your credit card account.
  • Paying it off. If your cash advance carries your card's highest APR, federal rules make the issuer apply any payment above your minimum first to the balance with the highest annual percentage rate.

What $100 costs: card, app or payday loan

Same $100, same 14 days. These are examples from published terms, not offers, and each provider decides whether to approve you.

  • Credit card: $6.12 to $11.14 in our three examples above. Your own card's fee and APR decide your cost.
  • Payday loan: at the CFPB's common charge of $15 per $100, $100 costs $15.00. The CFPB says that equals an annual percentage rate of almost 400 percent for a two-week loan. A 2014 CFPB report found that four out of five payday loans are rolled over or renewed within 14 days.
  • Credit union loan: Payday Alternative Loans from federal credit unions give you at least a month to repay, so we do not price them for 14 days here.
  • Cash advance apps: the three lowest-cost routes for each delivery speed are below. Each app's account and bank requirements still apply.

The lowest-cost app routes with standard delivery (4 routes tie at the lowest cost)

Current

No delivery fee into a Current Account, typically within 3 business days.

Requires a Current Account and an eligible payroll deposit of $200 or more. This is not a transfer to your selected outside bank. State restrictions apply.

Total cost
$0.00
Total payback
$100.00

EarnIn

No delivery fee if you can wait 1-2 business days.

General fee table, up to $150 per day. Fees, tips and limits differ in some states. Approval and your limit are not assured.

Total cost
$0.00
Total payback
$100.00

Klover

No delivery fee for standard ACH, usually within 3 business days. Klover+ is optional.

General fee table. Indiana, Wisconsin, Connecticut and Maryland have different terms. Points can lower delivery fees; no points discount is assumed.

Total cost
$0.00
Total payback
$100.00

MoneyLion Instacash

No delivery fee to a MoneyLion Spend account, usually 1-2 business days.

Requires MoneyLion Spend. The July 2026 terms restrict free external delivery to people unable to open Spend; that exception is not assumed.

Total cost
$0.00
Total payback
$100.00
Compare all $100 standard options

The three lowest-cost app routes with instant delivery

EarnIn

Lightning delivery fee; no monthly membership.

General fee table, up to $150 per day. Fees, tips and limits differ in some states. Approval and your limit are not assured.

Total cost
$5.99
Total payback
$105.99

MoneyLion Instacash

External-account Turbo fees for 1 disbursement, each no more than $100.

Uses the external-account table. Delivery to MoneyLion Spend has a different fee. Eligibility and bank support still need checking.

Total cost
$8.99
Total payback
$108.99

Klover

Uses the published maximum instant fee. Klover+ is optional and is not included.

General fee table. Indiana, Wisconsin, Connecticut and Maryland have different terms. Points can lower delivery fees; no points discount is assumed.

Total cost
$9.49
Total payback
$109.49
Compare all $100 instant options

Before you take a cash advance

What we could not verify

  • Your card's current cash advance APR. All the card APRs here vary with the Prime Rate. Chase's pricing page is dated December 16, 2025, and Bank of America's example agreement uses the Prime Rate as of June 30, 2026. We did not confirm later rate changes; your statement shows your current rate.
  • Interest on the fee and daily compounding. Our card examples charge interest on the amount taken only, at the APR divided by 365 for each day. Capital One's agreement treats its cash advance fee as a cash advance, and issuers calculate balances in different ways, so your statement can show slightly more interest.
  • Bank of America's pricing. It is an example agreement, and it says actual pricing will vary from one cardholder to another. It lists no dollar minimum for an ATM cash advance fee, so our example uses none. It gives an APR range for bank cash advances, so our example uses the highest rate in that range.
  • Capital One's current cash advance APR. Its consumer card agreement shows offers available as of June 30, 2025, so we give its margin over the Prime Rate and do not price a Capital One example.
  • ATM fees. The ATM's own fee depends on the machine and is not included in any example.
  • Citi and Discover. We could not read their current cash advance terms on an official page, so they are not included.
  • The advisory opinion's exact publication day. The CFPB file is dated December 2025; the opinion itself takes effect on its Federal Register publication date, which the file leaves blank.

Sources

The facts on this page come from the CFPB's consumer answers, its December 2025 earned wage access advisory opinion and Regulation Z, the FTC, and four card issuers' own pricing terms. Card terms change, so confirm your fee and rate before you take cash.

Every fact and its source
  • A short-term loan (CFPB): Unlike a debit card, however, getting cash with your credit card at an ATM is considered a short-term loan and can be expensive. (Ask CFPB, last reviewed September 2, 2026.) Source Checked
  • Where the money comes from (CFPB): Unlike withdrawing money from a bank account, a cash advance pulls money from your line of credit through your credit card. Source Checked
  • Cash advance fees (CFPB): The fees for a cash advance can be substantial. Source Checked
  • Flat fee or percentage (CFPB): Depending on your credit card terms, the company may charge a flat fee for withdrawing money, or they'll charge you a percentage of the cash advance. Source Checked
  • ATM fees (CFPB): Keep in mind, you may incur additional ATM fees as well. Source Checked
  • Higher interest rate (CFPB): In most cases, you'll also commonly pay a higher interest rate for a cash advance than you would for a typical credit card purchase. Source Checked
  • No grace period (CFPB): Unlike other purchases that have a grace period before they start to accrue interest, interest on a cash advance starts as soon as you withdraw your money. Source Checked
  • Cash advance limit (CFPB): Many credit cards have an overall credit limit and a separate lower limit for cash advances and checks written from your credit card account. Source Checked
  • Where to find your rate (CFPB): Your latest credit card statement will also list the current interest rate for cash advances. Source Checked
  • Convenience checks (CFPB): If you use your card to get a cash advance or use a check you received from your card issuer, generally you must start paying interest as of the date of the transaction. (Ask CFPB, last reviewed September 23, 2024.) Source Checked
  • Payments above the minimum (Regulation Z): 12 CFR 1026.53(a): when a consumer makes a payment in excess of the required minimum periodic payment for a credit card account under an open-end (not home-secured) consumer credit plan, the card issuer must allocate the excess amount first to the balance with the highest annual percentage rate and any remaining portion to the other balances in descending order based on the applicable annual percentage rate. Source Checked
  • Chase Freedom Unlimited cash advance fee: Chase Pricing & Terms linked from the Chase Freedom Unlimited card page, Fees, Transaction Fees, Cash Advances: Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater. Source Checked
  • Chase Freedom Unlimited cash advance APR: APR for Cash Advances: 28.49%. This APR will vary with the market based on the Prime Rate. We add 21.74% to the Prime Rate to determine the Cash Advance APR. Maximum APR 29.99%. Source Checked
  • Chase Freedom Unlimited purchase APR: Purchase Annual Percentage Rate (APR): 0% Intro APR for the first 15 months that your Account is open. After that, 18.24% to 27.74%. Source Checked
  • Chase: when interest starts: Paying Interest: We will begin charging interest on balance transfers and cash advances on the transaction date. Source Checked
  • Chase pricing date: The information about the costs of the card described in this form is accurate as of 12/16/2025. Variable APRs are based on the 6.75% Prime Rate as of 12/16/2025. Source Checked
  • Wells Fargo Active Cash cash advance fee: Wells Fargo Active Cash Card terms, Transaction Fees, Cash Advances: Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each advance, whichever is greater. Source Checked
  • Wells Fargo Active Cash cash advance APR: APR for Cash Advances and Overdraft Protection Advances: 29.74%. This APR will vary with the market based on the U.S. Prime Rate. Source Checked
  • Wells Fargo Active Cash purchase APR: APR for Purchases: 0% introductory APR for 12 months from date of account opening. After that, your APR will be 18.74%, 24.74%, or 28.74%, based on your creditworthiness. Source Checked
  • Wells Fargo: when interest starts: We will begin charging interest on cash advances and balance transfers on the transaction date. Source Checked
  • Wells Fargo terms date: Information about the credit card Account's interest rates, interest charges, and fees is correct as of September 2026. Source Checked
  • Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards ATM cash advance fee: Example of Credit Card Agreement for Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card accounts, Pricing Information (actual pricing will vary from one cardholder to another), Transaction Fees: ATM Cash Advance % of Transaction: 5%. Over the Counter Cash Advance: 5%. Same-Day Online Cash Advance: 5%. Cash Equivalent: 5%. Check Cash Advance and Direct Deposit: 4% to 5%. No dollar minimum is listed. Source Checked
  • Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards bank cash advance APR: APR for Bank Cash Advances: Prime + 21.74% to Prime + 22.49%, (APR) 28.49% to 29.24%. These APRs will vary with the market based on the Prime Rate (as of 06/30/2026). Bank Cash Advances include ATM Cash Advances. Source Checked
  • Bank of America: when interest starts: Paying Interest: We will begin charging interest on Cash Advances and Balance Transfers on the transaction date. Source Checked
  • Bank of America pricing date: These APRs will vary with the market based on the Prime Rate (as of 06/30/2026). Source Checked
  • Bank of America: cash equivalents: Cash Equivalents: by the purchase of foreign currency, money orders, travelers checks, wire transfers, or to obtain cash, each from a non-financial institution, or person-to-person money transfers, bets, lottery tickets purchased outside the United States, casino gaming chips, cryptocurrency to the extent accepted, or bail bonds, with your card or account number. Source Checked
  • Capital One cash advance fee: Credit Card Agreement for Consumer Cards in Capital One, N.A., Capital One Pricing Information (terms for offers available as of June 30, 2025), Transaction Fees, Cash Advance: Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each cash advance, whichever is greater. Source Checked
  • Capital One cash advance APR: How Do You Calculate My Variable Rates? ... Cash Advance APR: Prime plus a margin between 19.24% and 22.24%. Source Checked
  • Capital One: what counts as a cash advance: "Cash Advance" means a loan in cash or things we consider cash equivalents, including wire transfers, travelers' checks, money orders, foreign currency, lottery tickets, gaming chips, and wagers. Source Checked
  • Capital One: the fee is a cash advance: Cash Advance Fee: We may charge you this Fee each time you take out a Cash Advance. We will treat this Fee as a Cash Advance transaction. Source Checked
  • Two types of earned wage access (CFPB): Two main types of EWA exist in the market today. Providers of "employer-partnered" (EP) EWA contract with employers ... "Direct-to-consumer" (D2C) EWA providers offer access to amounts that they estimate to be below accrued wages. (CFPB advisory opinion, Truth in Lending (Regulation Z); Non-application to Earned Wage Access Products.) Source Checked
  • Direct-to-consumer apps (CFPB): "Direct-to-consumer" (D2C) EWA providers offer access to amounts that they estimate to be below accrued wages, with the provider then generally debiting accessed amounts via automated withdrawal from the worker's regular transaction account that receives their paycheck. Source Checked
  • How apps collect (CFPB): ... with the provider then generally debiting accessed amounts via automated withdrawal from the worker's regular transaction account that receives their paycheck. Source Checked
  • Advisory opinion date: CFPB advisory opinion, Truth in Lending (Regulation Z); Non-application to Earned Wage Access Products, published December 2025 (file cfpb_earned-wage-access-advisory-opinion_2025-12.pdf). Source Checked
  • Covered EWA (CFPB): Part I.C.2 of this advisory opinion explains why Covered EWA is not credit under Regulation Z. Source Checked
  • Covered EWA repayment (CFPB): (2) The provider uses a payroll process deduction in connection with the worker's next payroll event. Source Checked
  • Bank transfers after payday (CFPB): A transfer to the provider from any of the consumer's regular transaction accounts after the payment of wages into that account is not a payroll process deduction. Source Checked
  • Other EWA products (CFPB): This advisory opinion does not state, and nothing in it should be understood to state, that EWA products that are not Covered EWA are credit under Regulation Z. Source Checked
  • Payday loans as cash advances (FTC): Payday loans are small, short-term loans. Also called cash advance loans, they are legal in many states. (FTC Consumer Advice, What To Know About Payday and Car Title Loans, October 2024.) Source Checked
  • Payday loan (CFPB): While there is no set definition of a payday loan, it is usually a short-term, high-cost loan, generally for $500 or less, that is typically due on your next payday. (Ask CFPB, last reviewed May 28, 2024.) Source Checked
  • Single payment (CFPB): A payday loan is usually repaid in a single payment on the borrower's next payday, or when income is received from another source, such as a pension or Social Security. Source Checked
  • Due date (CFPB): The due date is typically two to four weeks from the date the loan was made. Source Checked
  • How you repay (CFPB): To repay the loan, you generally write a post-dated check for the full balance, including fees. Or, you give the lender authorization to electronically debit the funds from your bank, credit union, or prepaid card account. Source Checked
  • Payday fees by state (CFPB): The amount of this finance charge can range from $10 to $30 for every $100 borrowed, depending on your state law. (Ask CFPB, last reviewed November 25, 2024.) Source Checked
  • Common payday fee (CFPB): A charge of $15 per $100 is common. This equates to an annual percentage rate of almost 400 percent for a two-week loan. Source Checked
  • Payday APR (CFPB): A charge of $15 per $100 is common. This equates to an annual percentage rate of almost 400 percent for a two-week loan. Source Checked
  • Rollovers (CFPB, 2014): CFPB press release on its 2014 payday loan data: Four out of five payday loans are rolled over or renewed within 14 days. Source Checked